Character Animation

In this post I will be showing an animation I have been working on the past few weeks along with some pictures of the development process and some obstacles I had to overcome on the way. I feel it has been a rewarding task and am quite pleased with the overall outcome of the animation.

In my initial attempts and animating a rig for my project I turned to the ladies to seemed quite user-friendly but unfortunately for me I repeatedly broke them or struggled to have their limbs look like their turned at the correct position. With Bonnie (top, right) her legs appeared to be twisted, from where I was sitting at least. Mery just disagreed with me completely in that I would keep breaking her rig having her graphic spread in a controlled radius when moving the corresponding pivot/joint. I liked Bonnie at first, she was easy to use with an accessible rig though her legs just didn’t look right in my eyes and couldn’t be doing with a distraction like that.

I opted for a robot. With a robot more geometrically-shaped it would be easier for me to determine position and pose when performing a certain motion. Although with the robot I was unable to independently manipulate the elbows, shoulders or knees I found it somehow more simple and less tedious.

I will be updating this post regularly as the video renders.

ANIMATION UP SHORTLY!

along with my own character rig and story board and script

 

I have had some trouble, I think with having duplicate images with the same name, one set had over written some of the other set causing there to be a mix of images of two different angles causing the image to appear as though its shaking vertically.

here is a teaser of what is to come from the kite-flying robot

Leave a comment